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Who are Commercial Drivers?
Commercial drivers are all persons, paid or volunteer, who 
operate commercial motor vehicles. Volunteer drivers of church 
buses, private or public school buses and mechanics who test 
drive commercial vehicles must meet commercial driver’s 
license requirements.

Commercial driver’s license requirements don’t apply to:

	� operators of emergency vehicles, such as firefighters

	� active duty military personnel operating military vehicles

	� operators of farm vehicles when:

	� used by farmers

	� used to move farm goods, supplies or machinery 
to or from their farm

	� not used as a common or contract motor carrier, 
and

	� used within 150 miles of the farm

	� vehicles operated by persons only for personal use, such 
as recreational vehicles and rental moving vans.

	� Operators of Covered Farm Vehicles that are registered in 
Virginia or another state as a farm vehicle with a license 
plate or other designation that allows it to be identified as 
a farm vehicle when:

	� Operated by the owner or operator of a farm or a 
ranch or by an employee or family member of an 
owner or operator of a farm or ranch;

	� Used to transport agricultural commodities, 
livestock, machinery, or supplies to or from a farm 
or ranch;

	� Not used in for-hire motor carrier operations;

	� Not used in transporting hazardous materials 
requiring placarding;

	� Operated only inside of Virginia or, if crossing 
state lines, within 150 air miles of the farm or 
ranch if the vehicle’s gross vehicle weight or gross 
vehicle weight rating, whichever is greater, is 
more than 26,001 pounds OR, without mileage 
limitations if the vehicle’s gross vehicle weight or 
gross vehicle weight rating, whichever is greater, is 
26,001 pounds or less.

Eligibility for a Commercial Permit or License
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) 
requires that applicants for a commercial driver’s license or 

learner’s permit be either a U.S. citizen or a Legal Permanent 
Resident of the U.S. As a result, you are required to present 
one of the following to DMV when applying. If you previously 
presented one of these documents to DMV, you will not be 
asked to present it for subsequent applications: 

	� Valid, unexpired, U.S. passport

	� Certified copy of a U.S. state, jurisdiction, or territory

	� Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the U.S. 
Department of State

	� U.S. Certificate of Naturalization

	� U.S. Certificate of Citizenship

	� Valid, unexpired U.S. Permanent Resident Card

If you are temporarily authorized to be in the U.S. you may 
apply for a non-domiciled commercial license or permit. 
In addition to meeting Virginia’s requirements for licensing, 
you will also be required to present either a valid, unexpired 
Employment Authorization Document or a valid, unexpired 
foreign passport and approved I-94 form from your most recent 
admittance into the U.S. However, individuals domiciled 
in Mexico or Canada are not eligible for a Virginia non-
domiciled commercial license or permit because your country’s 
commercial motor vehicle operator licensing standards have 
been determined by the FMCSA Administrator to meet FMCSA 
standards. 

CDL Age Requirements
You must be at least 18 years of age to hold a CDL. Under 
federal law, you must be a commercial driver at least 21 years 
of age to drive across state lines, transport hazardous materials 
or transport interstate freight (e.g., mail) within the state. If you 
are under 21 years of age, you may be issued a CDL with a “K” 
restriction. This restriction indicates that your driving privileges 
are valid only in Virginia.

Commercial Learner’s Permit
If you want to learn to drive commercial motor vehicles, you 
must get a commercial learner’s permit. To obtain a commercial 
learner’s permit, you must pass the CDL general knowledge 
exam and the other knowledge exams for the vehicles that you 
want to drive. Your permit will be valid for one year.

The commercial learner’s permit allows you to drive a 
commercial vehicle of the class and type shown on the permit 
only when a person licensed to drive the same type of vehicle 
is with you. 
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Virginia Supplement to the Commercial Driver License Manual
This publication contains information that Virginia commercial motor vehicle operators must know,  
in addition to the information in the national standard CDL manual.
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Class A 
Any combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight 
rating of 26,001 pounds or more if the vehicle(s) being towed 
have a GVWR of more than 10,000 pounds. Vehicles in this 
class include:

	� tractor-trailer

	� truck and trailer combinations

	� tractor-trailer buses

If you hold a class A license and you have the correct 
endorsements, you may also operate vehicles listed in  
classes B and C.

Class B 
Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more. 
Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more 
towing another vehicle with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds or less. 
This class includes:

	� straight trucks

	� large buses

	� segmented buses

	� trucks towing vehicles with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds 
or less

If you hold a class B license and you have the correct 
endorsements, you may also operate vehicles listed in class C.

Class C 
Any vehicle that is not included in classes A or B that carries 
hazardous materials requiring placards or is designed to carry 
16 or more passengers, including the driver. 

Remember, the class of a vehicle is determined by its gross 
vehicle weight rating and the manufacturer’s design. The 
vehicle’s class determines the type of CDL and endorsements 
that you need. If you drive a redesigned or altered vehicle, 
the vehicle’s original class determines the type of CDL and 
endorsements that you need. The type of CDL that you need 
is not determined by the class that the redesigned vehicle falls 
within.

CDL Endorsements
H 	 Permits you to drive a vehicle that transports  
	 hazardous materials.
N 	 Permits you to drive a tank vehicle.
P	 Permits you to drive a passenger-carrying vehicle.
S 	 Permits you to drive a school bus.
T 	 Permits you to drive a double or triple trailer.
X	 Permits you to drive a tank vehicle and one that 		
	 carries hazardous materials. 

If DMV cancels any endorsement displayed on your CDL, you 
will be required to return to DMV to have a new CDL issued 
that does not display the cancelled endorsement. Failure to 
do so will result in the cancellation of your CDL.

If you have never held a CDL, you will be required to obtain 
and hold a commercial learner’s permit for a minimum of 14 
days and you may be required to complete entry-level driver 
training before taking the road skills test(s).

If you currently hold a CDL and wish to upgrade to a higher 
class, add an endorsement that requires a skills test, or 
remove a restriction, you will need to obtain the appropriate 
commercial learner’s permit and hold for a minimum of 
14 days before taking the skills test. A skills test is required 
to obtain a passenger endorsement and a school bus 
endorsement. You may be required to complete entry-level 
driver training before taking the road skills test(s) to add a 
passenger and/or school bus endorsement. A skills test is 
required to remove the following restrictions: no air brakes, 
no full air brakes, no tractor trailer, no manual transmission, 
operation of a passenger bus restricted to a Class B passenger 
vehicle, and operation of a passenger bus restricted to a  
Class C passenger vehicle.

Commercial Learner’s Permit Endorsements  
and Automatic Restrictions N Endorsement  
with an X Restriction	
You may only operate an empty tank vehicle and may not 
operate a tank vehicle that previously contained hazardous 
materials that has not been purged of any residue. 

P Endorsement with a P Restriction	
You may not operate a commercial motor vehicle carrying 
passengers. Exceptions include federal or state auditors and 
inspectors, test examiners, other trainees, and the commercial 
driver’s license holder accompanying the commercial learner’s 
permit holder.

S Endorsement with a P Restriction	
You may not operate a school bus vehicle carrying passengers. 
Exceptions include federal or state auditors and inspectors, test 
examiners, other trainees, and the commercial driver’s license 
holder accompanying the commercial learner’s permit holder.

Commercial Learner’s Permit Restrictions
L 	 You may not operate a vehicle with air brakes.
K 	 You may not operate a commercial motor vehicle 		
	 outside of Virginia or in interstate commerce.
M 	 Operation of a passenger vehicle is restricted to a 		
	 Class B or Class C passenger vehicle.
N 	 Operation of a passenger vehicle is restricted to a 		
	 Class C passenger vehicle.
V 	 You may not operate a commercial motor vehicle  
	 without your medical variance/waiver/skill 			 
	 performance documentation.
X	 You may not carry cargo in a commercial motor  
	 vehicle tank. 

CDL Classifications 
You should get your CDL for the class vehicle you plan to drive 
plus you may need additional endorsements.
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CDL Restrictions
B 	 You must wear corrective lenses when operating a 		
	 commercial motor vehicle.
E 	 You may only operate a commercial motor vehicle 		
	 that has an automatic transmission.
J 	 You may only operate a school/activity bus. You may 	
	 not operate any other type of commercial motor 		
	 vehicle.
K 	 You may not operate a commercial motor vehicle 		
	 outside of Virginia or in interstate commerce.
L 	 You may not operate a vehicle with Full Air or Air 
	 over Hydraulic brakes. If you plan to operate a 
	 vehicle with either of these types of air brakes, you 
	 must take the air brakes knowledge test. You also 
	 must take the road test in a vehicle equipped with 
	 Full Air or Air over Hydraulic brakes.
M 	 Operation of a passenger bus restricted to a Class B 
	 or Class C passenger vehicle.
N 	 Operation of a passenger bus restricted to a Class C 
	 passenger vehicle.
O 	 You may not operate a tractor-trailer.
Q 	 You are prohibited from operating a commercial 
	 motor vehicle to transport children to or from 
	 activities sponsored by a school or by a child day care 
	 facility licensed, regulated, or approved by the 
	 Virginia Department of Social Services.
V 	 You may not operate a commercial motor vehicle  
	 without your medical variance/waiver/skill 			 
	 performance documentation.
Z 	 You may not operate a vehicle with Full Air brakes.

Compliance with Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
All CDL/permit applicants must certify that they are in 
compliance with the federal and Virginia motor carrier safety 
regulations. Virginia law requires that all CDL/permit applicants 
who certify that they will operate a commercial motor vehicle 
in non-excepted interstate or intrastate commerce shall provide 
the Department of Motor Vehicles with an original or certified 
copy of a medical examiner’s certificate prepared by a qualified  
health professional listed on the National Registry of Certified 
Medical Examiners. Any commercial driver who fails to comply 
with these requirements will not be eligible for a commercial 
driver’s license. To find a qualified health professional listed on 
the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners and obtain 
a medical examiner’s certificate, visit nationalregistry.fmcsa.dot.
gov. CDL/Permit holders who certify that they will operate a 
commercial motor vehicle in either excepted or non-excepted 
intrastate commerce will have a “K” restriction added to their 
CDL/Permit restricting them to intrastate commerce.

Vision Standards
To operate commercial motor vehicles, you must have:

	� 20/40 or better vision in each eye with or without 
corrective lenses, and

	� 140 degrees or better horizontal vision.

These visual requirements must be met without the aid of a 
telescopic lens. Additionally, you must be able to recognize 
traffic signs and devices showing standard red, green or amber 
indicators. Some drivers may be granted waivers from these 
vision requirements.

For information concerning waivers for intrastate travel, contact 
DMV. For information concerning waivers for interstate travel, 
contact the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration at 
Vision Program, 400 7th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20590.

Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT)
Effective February 7, 2022, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Administration implemented minimum training requirements 
for entry-level drivers applying to: 

	� Obtain a Class A or Class B commercial driver’s license 
for the first time

	� Upgrade an existing Class B to a Class A commercial 
driver’s license

	� Obtain a hazardous material endorsement (HME), a 
passenger (P) or school bus (S) endorsement for the first 
time

ELDT Exemptions
ELDT requirements do not apply to:

	� Individuals who already hold a CDL, unless they are 
upgrading a CDL classification or endorsement after 
February 7, 2022

	� Individuals who hold a valid, unexpired commercial 
learner’s permit (CLP) issued prior to February 7, 2022; 
however, they must obtain a CDL before the CLP expires 

	� Individuals who obtain a CDL under the Troops to 
TrucksSM program 

For more information, visit dmvNOW.com/ELDT. 

Testing
	� You may take the CDL knowledge exam(s) only once 

per business day. Passed knowledge test results are valid 
for one year. If you apply for your commercial learner’s 
permit or commercial driver’s license longer than one 
year after passing a test, you will need to successfully 
complete the test again before obtaining your permit or 
CDL.

	� If you fail the commercial driver’s license general 
knowledge exam three times, prior to February 7, 2022, 
you will not be permitted to take it a fourth time until 
you successfully complete the knowledge component 
of driver instruction at a driver training school approved 
by DMV. You must complete the driver instruction 
after the third unsuccessful attempt to pass the test. 
Upon completion of the knowledge component and 
presentation of your certificate of completion, DMV will 
allow you to take the knowledge test again.

	� If you fail the commercial driver’s license behind-the 
wheel test administered by DMV three times prior to, 
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February 7, 2022, in the same Class of commercial motor 
vehicle, you will not be permitted to take the test a fourth 
time in that Class of commercial motor vehicle until you 
successfully complete the in-vehicle component of driver 
instruction at a driver training school approved by DMV. 
You must complete the driver instruction after the third 
unsuccessful attempt to pass the test. Upon completion 
of the in-vehicle component and presentation of your 
certificate of completion, DMV will allow you to take the 
behind-the-wheel test again.

	� Passed CDL skills test results are valid for six months. If 
you apply for your commercial driver’s license six months 
or more after passing your CDL skills test, you will need 
to successfully complete the test again before obtaining 
your CDL.

	� If you fail to show up for a scheduled CDL skills test 
without notifying the examiner in advance, DMV will 
charge you a $50 fee.

Important Notes
	� If the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 

(FMCSA) notifies DMV that you have been determined to 
be an imminent hazard and have beendisqualified from 
operating a commercial motor vehicle, the information 
will be noted on your driving record. Also, any 
disqualification imposed by DMV will run concurrently 
with the disqualification imposed by FMCSA.

	� Virginia law prohibits the court from allowing drivers 
of commercial motor vehicles, or persons holding a 
CDL or commercial learner’s permit and operating 
a non-commercial motor vehicle, to attend a driver 
improvement clinic in lieu of a conviction, or to reduce 
or defer a conviction.

	� If you are convicted of a felony sexual offense involving 
a minor, you must register with the Virginia State Police. 
You must re-register within 30 days of moving.

Alcohol Warnings
All CDL drivers are subject to Virginia’s controlled substance 
and alcohol testing laws. If you operate a commercial vehicle 
under the influence of alcohol or drugs, refuse to take a blood 
alcohol test or are found to have a BAC of 0.04 percent or 
greater, your CDL or commercial learner’s permit will be 
disqualified. The disqualification period ranges from one year 
to life, but does not necessarily affect your privilege to drive a 
non-commercial vehicle.

If you operate a vehicle on Virginia’s roadways, you agree 
to take a chemical test upon request to determine if you are 
driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. This is called 
implied consent.

Any person who possesses or consumes an alcoholic beverage 
while operating a school bus transporting children is guilty of 
a Class 1 misdemeanor. A person convicted of this offence is 
punishable by confinement in jail for up to 12 months and/or  
a fine of up to $2,500.

If the police have probable cause to stop you and suspect that 
you have been drinking or using drugs, they will ask you to 
take a breath test. This test analyzes the amount of alcohol and 
drugs in your body. Under implied consent laws, if you operate 
a motor vehicle on Virginia’s public roads, you agree to take a 
chemical test upon request.

You are required to take the test. If you refuse, your license 
will be immediately suspended for seven days and it may be 
suspended for one year, whether or not you are convicted of 
driving under the influence. If you are convicted of DUI, the 
suspension period for refusing the test will be added to the  
DUI revocation period.

Virginia School Bus Drivers
To drive a school bus, you must be at least 18 years of age. You 
must also hold a valid commercial driver’s license. Depending 
on the weight and size of the bus that you will drive, you 
will be issued a Class B or Class C license. Additionally you 
must have a passenger bus endorsement and a school bus 
endorsement on your CDL. Individuals required to register 
with the Virginia State Police Sex Offender and Crimes Against 
Children registry are prohibited from obtaining a school 
bus endorsement during any period in which registration is 
required.

If you plan to drive a school bus designed to carry fewer than 
16 passengers, including the driver, you do not need to obtain 
a CDL, or the passenger bus endorsement. However, you must 
have the school bus endorsement on your driver’s license. 
Therefore, you will need to pass the school bus knowledge 
and skills tests. You will be restricted to driving buses designed 
to carry fewer than 16 passengers including the driver and this 
restriction will be printed on your license. If you plan to drive a 
vehicle designed to carry fewer than 16 passengers, including 
the driver, that does not meet the definition of a school bus 
(designed for transport of pupils to and from school, is yellow 
with black letters, and has warning devices), you do not need 
to obtain a CDL, passenger bus endorsement, or school bus 
endorsement.

Fees are not charged for a school bus endorsement on the 
driver’s license or the commercial driver’s license. The fee for 
a driver’s license with a school bus endorsement is $4.00 per 
year.

If you wish to operate a school bus that is designed to carry 
16 or more passengers, you must obtain a commercial driver’s 
license. You will need to pass the CDL general knowledge test, 
the passenger knowledge test, school bus knowledge test, and 
the air brake knowledge test if the vehicle is equipped with air 
brakes. In addition to the written tests, you must pass the road 
skills test in a commercial vehicle representative of the type you 
propose to operate. You may be required to complete entry-
level driver training before taking the road skills test(s).

If you operate only a school and/or activity bus, you may have 
commercial license privileges restricted for this purpose and 
pay only the driver’s license fee of $4.00 per year or $32.00 



for an 8-year license. However, if you intend to operate 
commercial vehicles other than the school or school activity 
bus, or if you have a class A CDL or add other endorsement(s), 
you will have to pay the fees for the CDL and the additional 
endorsement(s). 

Virginia law requires all school bus drivers to wear safety belts. 
Virginia law prohibits the use of hand-held or hands-free cell 
phones or other wireless devices while operating a school bus. 
The only exceptions are in an emergency situation or when the 
vehicle is lawfully parked and for the purposes of dispatching. 
School bus drivers may use two-way radio devices or wireless 
telecommunications devices that are used hands-free to allow 
live communication between the driver and school or public 
safety officials.

Hazardous Materials
Hazardous Materials (HAZMAT) endorsements are not 
transferable from other states. All tests must be taken. HAZMAT 
tests cannot be given orally or in a language other than English. 
The federal USA Patriot Act requires all applicants for HAZMAT 
endorsements to be fingerprinted for a background check. The 
HAZMAT background check may be transferred from another 
state or credit may be given for a valid Transportation Workers 
Identification Credential (TWIC) as long as it is valid for at least 
one year and five days from the DMV application date. The 
background check fee is $83.00. See the CDL application (DL 
70) for fingerprinting locations.

Applicants for hazardous materials endorsements must comply 
with Transportation Security Administration requirements in 49 
C.F.R. Part 1572. A lawful permanent resident of the United 
States requesting a hazardous materials endorsement must also 
provide his U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) 
alien registration number.

Compliance with federal motor carrier safety regulations: 
“…a motor carrier or other person to whom this part is 
applicable must comply with the rules in parts 390 through 
397, inclusive, of this subchapter when he/she is transporting 
hazardous materials by a motor vehicle which must be 
marked or placarded” in accordance with the Code of Federal 
Regulations.

Troops to TrucksSM

Through the Troops to TrucksSM program, DMV is helping 
service members obtain tools for future employment in the 
transportation industry. If you have military truck driving 
experience and a military CDL, testing may be waived for a 
Virginia CDL. Once credentialed, complete an employment 
questionnaire to be provided to Virginia-based transportation 
companies.  

Eligibility

To eligible for knowledge and/or skills test waivers, applicants 
must be Virginia residents; serving Guard or Reserve member, 
active duty personnel or discharged in the last 12 months; 

and have a Virginia driver’s license or be eligible for one. An 
applicant’s commanding officer or designee must certify that 
the applicant has had driving experience for the past two years 
in the military, operating the same type of vehicle that the 
applicant plans to drive using a Virginia CDL. Drivers may need 
additional tests to obtain endorsements on their CDL.

Military Skills Test Waiver Program 

Applicants with two years’ experience safely operating heavy 
military vehicles may be eligible to obtain a CDL without 
taking the skills test. You will only need to take the CDL 
knowledge exam and any other knowledge exams required 
for the commercial vehicle class and endorsements you would 
like to obtain.

Even Exchange Program (Knowledge Test Waiver)

When used with the Military Skills Test Waiver, qualified 
military drivers may be exempt from the CDL knowledge 
test. To qualify for a knowledge test waiver, applicants must 
meet the criteria for the skills test waiver and must have 
held (within the last year) a Military Driver’s License with an 
approved Military Occupational Specialty (MOS) Code. 

Eligible MOS Codes:

	� U.S. Army: 88M Motor Transport Operator; 92F Fueler; 
14T Patriot Launching Station Operator

	� U.S. Marine Corps: 3531 Motor Vehicle Operator

	� U.S. Navy: EO Equipment Operator

	� U.S. Air Force: 2T1 Vehicle Operator; 2F0 Fueler; 3E2 
Pavement and Construction Equipment Operator

Even Exchange does not eliminate or replace the skills test 
waiver. Program applicants who do not qualify for the Even 
Exchange Program may still qualify for the skills test waiver.

Application Process

Applicants need:

	� a downloadable DMV waiver form (DL13) signed and 
notarized by the applicant’s commanding officer or 
designee 

	� Virginia driver’s license or be eligible for one

	� a completed Application for a Virginia Commercial 
Driver’s License (DMV form DL2P) 

	� DD-214, DD-256, NGB-22 or a U.S. Active Duty/
Reservist Military ID Card 

	� If operating either non-excepted interstate or  
non-excepted intrastate commerce, a valid CDL 
medical certificate issued by a medical examiner on 
the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners 
(nationalregistry.fmcsa.dot.gov).

Get all of the Troops to TrucksSM program details at  
www.dmvNOW.com/T2T.
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