JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use DMVNow in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, then try again. To get the best experience, you'll need to upgrade to a modern browser.
Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

Email this pagePrint this page  

Questions Related To Virginia Citations

Why is a Virginia citation issued?
A Virginia Motor Carrier citation is issued when a carrier is operating a vehicle on Virginia highways and the vehicle's weight exceeds the statutory weight limits per the Code of Virginia § 46.2-1133. The citation is issued to the owner, operator or other person(s) responsible for the violation as determined by the officer.
What can I do if I do not agree with a Virginia citation?
You may submit a written Notice of Elect to Contest Request to DMV within 21 calendar days of the offense date.
DMV will notify the officer and the appropriate court that you have challenged the citation and forward all paperwork necessary to place you on the court docket. You will receive a notification letter verifying that the citation has been contested and confirming the date and time to appear in court.
DMV is responsible for collecting payment for Virginia citations and is not authorized by the Code of Virginia to waive or adjust a Virginia citation.
What happens if my Virginia citation is contested?
The assessed amount on the Virginia citation can be upheld, reduced or dismissed by the court. Once your case is heard, a final case disposition is issued. The Code of Virginia requires the disposition to be satisfied within 30 calendar days after the trial date.
Failure to satisfy the final case disposition within 30 calendar days of the trial date results in the suspension of your privilege to operate on Virginia highways and a $50 reinstatement fee is assessed.
What happens after my Virginia citation is heard in court and a judge renders the final verdict?
Failure to satisfy the final case disposition within 30 calendar days of the trial date results in the suspension of your privilege to operate on Virginia highways and a $50 reinstatement fee is assessed. Your vehicles may be detained in Virginia until the total amount due is paid.
What if my written Notice of Elect to Contest Request is received by DMV after the 21 calendar days of the offense date?
Failure to submit a written Notice of Elect to Contest Request to DMV within 21 calendar days of the offense date results in the suspension of your privilege to operate on Virginia highways and a $50 reinstatement fee is assessed. Your right to contest the citation in a court of law is forfeited. Your vehicles may be detained in Virginia until the total amount due is paid.
What if my written Notice of Elect to Contest Request is received by DMV and I decide to pay the Virginia citation prior to the court date?
DMV will notify the issuing agent and appropriate court that the Virginia citation has been paid in full. The court may use the letter to note their records and remove the case from its docket.
By what methods can I make full payment to DMV for a Virginia citation?
There are three payment methods
  • Internet:: Virginia Citation payment
  • Phone: Call 1-804-249-5130 and speak to a Motor Carrier Services Representative (credit card use only).
  • Mail: Make your payment payable in U.S. funds to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Mail your check or money order with a copy of your citation or notice to DMV.
  • In Person: Take your citation or notice and payment to any Virginia DMV Customer Service Center or any Motor Carrier Service Center.
Can a partial-payment plan be set up with DMV to pay Virginia citations?
The Code of Virginia does not allow DMV to accept partial payments for Virginia citations.
What happens if my Virginia citation is not paid within the 21 calendar days of the offense date?
Failure to make full payment or submit a written Notice of Elect to Contest Request to DMV within 21 calendar days of the offense date results in the suspension of your privilege to operate on Virginia highways and a $50 reinstatement fee is assessed. Your vehicles may be detained in Virginia until the total amount due is paid.
What happens if my Virginia citation is paid and a $50 reinstatement fee remains unpaid?
Your privilege to operate on Virginia highways remains suspended until the $50 reinstatement fee is paid.