Driver Training Schools
If you are a Virginia resident under age 19, you must hold your Virginia learner's permit for at least nine months and complete a state-approved driver education program.
If you are a Virginia resident, 19 years of age or older and you have never held a license issued by any state, U.S. territory or foreign country, you must hold a Virginia learner's permit for at least 60 days. However, the permit may be held less than 60 days if you show completion of a state-approved driver education program.
About Driver Training Schools
Driver education programs are available statewide to students, adults and out-of-school youths. Public and private school programs are approved by the Department of Education. Driver training schools follow the same course content and are licensed by DMV.
The program consists of 36 fifty-minute classroom periods of instructions and 14 fifty-minute periods in-car instructions (7 periods of driving and 7 periods of observation). It includes components about alcohol safety, drug abuse awareness, aggressive driving, distracted driving, pedestrian and bicycle safety, handicapped parking, fuel efficient driving practices, motorcycle awareness and organ and tissue donation awareness.
New Driver's Manual Course
A Driver's Manual course is available for adults age 19 and older who have failed the knowledge test three times. The program consists of an 8-hour classroom course based on the Virginia Driver's Manual. The course is designed to better prepare individuals for the test at DMV.
You can find a list of schools offering this course at Driver's Manual Course Training Sites.
Find a Driver Training School
To locate the driver training school closest to you, refer to Driver Training Schools by District.
DMV is committed to promoting transportation safety through the certification of quality driver training programs. For information about the laws governing driver training schools, refer to the Virginia Driver Training School Regulations.
If you have comments or concerns about this course, call our toll-free number: 1-877-885-5790.