DMV News Releases
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEFriday, May 02, 2014
Moped Riders: Title and Register Your Moped Today
Deadline to Comply with Law is July 1, 2014
RICHMOND - The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is reminding moped owners and operators that the deadline to title and register their mopeds is quickly approaching.
A law that went into effect last summer requires mopeds operated on Virginia roadways to be titled and registered by July 1, 2014. A title is $10. The annual registration fee is $20.25.
Virginia law also requires every moped driver to carry a government-issued photo ID (does not have to be a driver's license) . In addition, every driver and passenger must wear a helmet while riding a moped. Drivers must also wear a face shield, safety glasses or goggles unless the moped has a windshield.
"More than 1,800 folks have already titled and registered their mopeds," said DMV Commissioner Richard D. Holcomb. "We are excited those customers got a jump start on the process. Now, we want to make sure that the rest of the moped community is aware of this requirement and the deadline."
At the request of the General Assembly, DMV established an ongoing work group in 2012 to study a number of non-conventional vehicles, including mopeds. That study showed the lack of any identifying information on a moped made them nearly impossible to recover after theft and complicated identification of the vehicle and operator in the event of a crash.
"Requiring titling and registration of mopeds will allow law enforcement to better track mopeds that are stolen or used in the commission of crimes and more effectively deal with moped crashes," said Holcomb. "Titling and registration could also assist consumers in re-selling a moped."
In 2013, there were more than 600 moped crashes in Virginia, 12 of which were fatal. Nearly 20 percent of those crashes were alcohol-related and 10 percent were speed-related. The top driver action contributing to a crash was failing to maintain control of the moped.
DMV will issue one license plate per moped to be placed on the rear of the vehicle. Customers can personalize their moped plate for $10 in addition to the registration fee. For more information, visit dmvNOW.com/mopeds.