Online Dealers Save Time and Money

Virginia law (§46.2-1530.2, Code of Virginia) requires DMV to charge a \$15 fee for every dealer-related transaction, in excess of twenty transactions per month, that is conducted in a DMV customer service center (CSC) or DMV Dealer Center.

Save time and money. Join DMV's Online Dealer program today.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Online Dealer program?

The Online Dealer program provides an electronic link between DMV and licensed motor vehicle dealers. The link, provided by one of three vendors, enables dealerships to transfer license plates, issue registration cards, issue metal license plates at the point of sale and electronically update DMV's vehicle files. Titles are printed at DMV and mailed to the customer or lienholder after the transaction has been completed by the online dealer.

How does the Online Dealer program work?

The interface is facilitated by software and hardware provided by a third party vendor under contract with the dealer. There are currently four authorized vendors of these services, Computerized Vehicle Registration (CVR), Dealertrack (formerly triVIN), Motor Vehicle Software Corp, and TitleTec, Inc.

What are the benefits of being an Online Dealer?

Paperwork does not have to be delivered to a DMV CSC for processing. DMV provides a courier or postage for the dealer to send documents to DMV headquarters for auditing and imaging. No checks need be written. All taxes and fees are transferred electronically. The program also provides added convenience to customers, which results in a positive reflection on the dealer. Customers can transfer their current license plates or receive their new plates, decals and registration cards at the dealership. Neither the dealer nor customer has to go to DMV to obtain the metal plates and decals. If ordering a special plate, the plates and decals are mailed directly to the customer from DMV's manufacturing facility.

How do I sign up to be an Online Dealer?

A licensed Virginia dealer may contact any of the four approved vendors.

CVR - Computerized Vehicle Registration

John Alviggi Director of Sales/Operations 655 Business Center Drive, Suite 110 Horsham, PA 19044 Email: jalviggi@cvrconnect.com Phone: (267) 419-3261 Support: (800) 333-6995 Website: www.cvrconnect.com

Cox Automotive - Dealertrack Registration and

Titling Solutions Kim Haddaway Regional Sales Manager Virginia Beach VA Mobile: 757-985-6940 Sales Inquiries: 888-346-3087 Client Services: 800-211-3639 E-mail: kimberly.haddaway@coxautoinc.com Website: us.dealertrack.com

VITU (Motor Vehicle Software Corporation)

Don McNamara General Manager Southeast 1108 E. Main St. Suite 310 Richmond, Virginia 23219 E-mail: dmcnamara@vitu.com Mobile: (804)477-4390 Office: (804)461-3686

TitleTec, Inc. (an AutoPoint Company)

Diane Zewalk State Director 14850 Montfort Drive, Suite 190 Dallas, TX 75254 E-mail: diane.zewalk@titletec.com Phone: (919) 909-7110

After the dealership has signed a contract with one of the vendors, the vendor then submits the information to DMV's Dealer Services work center, located at its headquarters in Richmond, for the dealership for approval. Once the requesting participant has been approved by the Dealer Services work center, the vendor is notified. This process could take up to 30 days.

Are Virginia dealers required to join the Online Dealer program?

Franchise dealers are required to be online participants. Independent dealers who sell at least 100 vehicles per calendar year are required to be online participants. Independent dealers with sales under 100 vehicles are not required, but are encouraged to take advantage of this convenient, cost-saving program.

If I choose not to become an Online Dealer, how many transactions will DMV process at a DMV CSC or Dealer Center each month before charging the \$15 statutory fee?

DMV will process up to 20 dealer transactions per month at a CSC without charging the \$15 statutory fee. On the 21st and subsequent transactions, DMV will charge the \$15 statutory fee.

If I am an Online Dealer and I want to have a transaction processed at the CSC will I be charged?

Yes, Online Dealers will be assessed the additional fee for work processed in DMV offices.

If I have applied to join the Online Dealer program, but have not completed the contract process, will I be charged the \$15 fee?

Yes, you will be charged the additional fee for work processed in DMV offices.

If I have applied to join the Online Dealer program and have been denied will I be charged the fee?

Yes, if your application is denied by DMV, you will be charged the additional fee for work processed in DMV offices.

Can I pass the additional \$15 fee on to my customers?

Virginia law prohibits dealers from passing the fee on to their customers.

Do I show the additional \$15 fee on my Buyer's Order?

The additional fee should not be reflected on Buyer's Orders.

If I am not an Online Dealer and I drop-off work with the CSC or Dealer Center and this is my twenty-first transaction, will the CSC or Dealer Center process the transaction or return the work to my dealership? DMV will process the transaction. Dealers who

process more than twenty transaction. Dealers who process more than twenty transactions in a month will receive an invoice from DMV for the fees due for the processing month.

If I am not an Online Dealer and I give the work to my customer to take to a CSC or Dealer Center, will my dealership or customer be charged the \$15 fee after the 20th transaction?

No. If the customer takes their own work to CSC or Dealer Center to be processed, the customer or dealership will not be charged. However, the customer must alert the DMV customer service representative that they are submitting the work for themselves. It is recommended that the

dealership provide the customer with a letter on company letterhead stating the customer has requested to handle the DMV paperwork themselves.

If I am a participant in the Online Dealer program, do I collect the "online system filing fee" from my customer?

The law requires dealers participating in the Online Dealer program to collect the vendor's online system filing fee charged for the transaction from the purchaser and to remit the fee to the vendor.

If I am a participant in the Online Dealer program, am I required to show the "online systems filing fee" on my Buyer's Order? The fee is to be listed separately and identified as the "online systems filing fee" on Buyer's Orders.



W W W . d m V **VOW** . C O m Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles P. O. Box 27412 Richmond, Virginia 23269 (804) 497-7100 www.dmvNOW.com

> DMV 25 (08/04/2020) © Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 2020. All rights reserved.

🚯 Made with recycled material.

Be an Online Dealer!

With the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles

