VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
SPECIAL LICENSE PLATE DEVELOPMENT PROCESS

Sponsor Information for Colleges/Universities and Fraternities/Sororities

Legislation approved by the Virginia General Assembly and Governor authorizes the issuance of all special
license plates. State law allows institutions of higher education and fraternities/sororities to apply directly
with DMV for the development of license plates bearing those entities' logos or symbols; however, that law
creates two different standards for plate issuance. If you represent a Virginia college or university, you
may apply for revenue sharing license plates to fund, in whole or in part, scholarships for Virginia
students. Prior to issuance, you will not be required to submit any prepaid applications for your plates. If
you represent a non-Virginia college or university or a fraternity/sorority, regardless of location, you may
apply only for non-revenue sharing plates and you will be required to collect a minimum 350 prepaid
applications before DMV can issue your plates. Contact DMV License Plate Development for additional
information to assist you in creating your plate.

Sponsorship Requirements
Send a request to PlateDevelopment@dmv.virginia.gov and complete the following requirements.

e Submit a signed Agreement prepared by DMV Public
College/University or Private College/University

e Select one contact person from your organization to facilitate the
development and approval process for the license plate. Also, that
person will be responsible for disseminating their internal updates.

e Submit the DMV Plate Sponsor (VSA 154) form, to identify you as
the sponsor for the new plate.

e Submit a scholarship plan coordinated and approved by the State

Virginia Accredited Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV). Guidelines for the

Colleges/Universities plan: Scholarship Plan The scholarship program is a legislative
requirement. After 1,000 qualifying plate sales, $15 of every $25
collected will be returned annually to support scholarships for
eligible students enrolled in the institution. Only students who are
bona fide domiciliaries of Virginia and are enrolled in educational
programs whose primary purpose is not to provide religious training
or theological education shall be eligible to receive such
scholarships.

¢ Create and submit design.

¢ Submit a signed Agreement prepared by DMV.

e Select one contact person from your organization to facilitate the
development and approval process for the license plate. Also, that
person will be responsible for disseminating their internal updates.

e Submit the DMV Plate Sponsor (VSA 154) form, to identify you as

Non-Virginia the sponsor for the new plate.

Colleges/Universities e Facilitate the collection of 350 or more prepaid applications ($25
non personalized and $35 personalized) from applicants with active
vehicle registrations. (Note: Revenue sharing is not an option.)
Applicants must use DMV's Preorder Request (VSA 10D)
application.

¢ Create and submit design.
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e Submit authorization from the governing umbrella organization for
use of the design and logo

e Submit written evidence of affiliation with a traditional national social
fraternity or sorority that is recognized by an Inter-fraternity
Conference, National Pan-Hellenic Council, or Professional
Fraternities Association.

e Select one contact person from your organization to facilitate the
development and approval process for the license plate. Also, that

Fraternities/Sororities person will be responsible for disseminating their internal updates.

e Submit the DMV Plate Sponsor (VSA 154) form, to identify you as
the sponsor for the new plate.

e Facilitate the collection of 350 or more prepaid applications ($10 non
personalized and $20 personalized) from applicants with active
vehicle registrations. (Note: Revenue sharing is not an option.)
Applicants must use DMV's Preorder Request (VSA 10D)
application.

e Create and submit design.

Information on collecting and submitting the Preorder Request applications and payment

A suggestion, based on the experience of other sponsors, is to collect the prepaid applications and deposit
the monies in a special non-interest-bearing account until it is time to submit applications and payment to
DMV. Individual applications and checks made payable to DMV will be returned to the applicant.
Applications can be collected manually or electronically using the DMV form VSA 10D Preorder Request.
Secure applications and payments and maintain accurate documentation throughout the process. Contact
License Plate Development for guidelines on collecting applications and payments electronically.

Collect only the license plate and personalization fees; the cost of the vehicle registration/renewal is not
part of this process. The fees must be paid by the applicant. If the organization wishes to absorb the cost,
they may refund the applicant once they are in receipt of their new plates. When certification is required in
order to receive the license plate, the organization must verify, approve, and attach the appropriate
certification to each application. The International Symbol of Access (ISA), also known as the disabled
symbol, is available. Unfortunately, souvenir license plates are not available during this process.

Review all applications for completion. No applications will be accepted without a vehicle owner signature.
Submit the entire batch (minimum 350) with one check totaling the amount of applications received.
a) Separate the applications into three batches with a cover sheet for each batch displaying the total
application count and dollar amount.
1. Non personalized
2. New personalized
3. Transfer existing plate number (if the plate number is non-personalized, this transfer changes it
to personalized. Personalization carriers an additional $10 annual fee and the plate humber
can be remade and/or transferred to different plates. A non-personalized plate number
operates only on the plate to which it was assigned and cannot be remade.
b) Submit one check to DMV along with the applications. The check amount should equal the amount
collected for all three batches.
c) Submit applications and payment to Virginia DMV, License Plate Development — Room 322, PO
Box 27412, Richmond, VA 23269

Submission of Electronic Media Artwork
Preliminary unapproved designs used for marketing purposes should have a disclosure statement
informing potential applicants that the designs may be subject to changes pending DMV approval.
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The Sponsor is required to provide up to a four-color electronic camera-ready design. Create the design in
a vector-based program (Adobe Photoshop or lllustrator CS6) and send the original raw file. The use of
spot colors is preferable over process-color due to the intensity and the ability to control the inks. If spot
colors are being used, only four colors may be used in any design, including black. For example, a design
could be comprised of three Pantone® colors in addition to black. If process-color is being used (CMYK),
the text on the plate must use one of the process colors to avoid fuzzy edges. Black is preferable for the
text in this case. Avoid thin lines less than 1/32 of an inch; they may break up or print unevenly. Avoid
heavy coverage of ink in the alpha-numeric areas; it reduces legibility for law enforcement and the design
is less likely to be approved.

The logo width cannot not exceed 2 % inches. The length may be longer than 3 inches without interfering
with the month or year decal on the license plate. It can be positioned on the left or right. The standard
font, color (blue), and location of VIRGINIA (positioned at the top of the license plate) must be maintained.

To review DMV's existing plate designs, visit us at www.dmvNOW.com and, under the heading Online
Transactions, select Plate Purchase, where you will see more than 200 different plates.

Plate Numbering and Longevity
The numbering system for these special license plates is usually four numeric and two alpha characters for
a standard production series. Example: 1001ZZ — 9950ZZ or ZZ1001 — ZZ9950.

DMV Time Line
The entire process may take up to two years or more if prepaid applications are required. The
estimated time for plate development and implementation is up to nine months (times may vary).

SPONSOR - Submit a minimum of 350 Preorder Request applications and payment to DMV and verify.

DMV - Collect, review, and correct (if necessary) all required documents, including plate

design from the Sponsor. 8 WEEKS
DMV - Submit plate design to vendor and receive metal prototype. 5 - 6 WEEKS

DMV - Prepare and receive metal prototype approvals (sponsor, DMV Commissioner, State Police, and toll
road facility). 8 WEEKS

DMV - Order and receive the sheeting for printing. 8 - 10 WEEKS

DMV - Provide system requirements, communication updates, process applications, make and mail plates to
customer. 3 - 4 WEEKS

For further information, please contact t DMV License Plate Development:
E-mail: PlateDevelopment@dmv.virginia.gov
Fax:  (804) 367-6379
Mail:  Virginia DMV
License Plate Development — Room 322
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269-0001 February 10, 2017
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